Shirley’s Q+A – Meet The Contributor

0

Family: My husband and I have known each other since we were kids. We got married in 2019 when I was just 19. Ah, young love, haha.   We just celebrated our 11 year wedding anniversary and are hoping to celebrate more. We have a 4 year old toddler, a 14  year old cat, and a 10 year old dog.  

Job: I work at a dental office. 

What brought you to Flagstaff: My husband got accepted to NAU.

Early Bird or Night Owl: Most definitely a night owl. My energy and creativity comes to me at night. It makes for rough mornings, haha.

Hobbies: I have too many. Photography is probably one of my favorite hobbies that I have kept throughout the years. I even had a little side job as a photographer through the years. Other hobbies include thrifting, writing random blurbs, and creating endless lists of things I want to do.

Favorite thing to do with your family: Our current favorite thing to do is order pizza and watch Brooklyn 99 on Fridays.  You can usually find us out on the Buffalo Park trails walking our dog on the weekends. We’re more active in the warmer months, and we’ll check out new walking trails. We just completed our first full year here, so we’re still trying to figure out family activities in a small town. 

Kids age difference: I only have 1 kid, so no age difference.

Coffee or Tea: I enjoy both, but I probably like coffee a little more. It really depends on my mood. 

Favorite/Least favorite household chore: I really like to vacuum. Having something be louder than myself while I clean, is a kind of a good feeling. Also, those vacuum lines are oddly satisfying. . Least favorite would be a hard tie between the dishes and cleaning the bathroom. 

Going back in time, one thing you would tell yourself right before you became a mother: Postpartum is the hardest thing you’re going to experience, but you are not alone. Please speak up and reach out. Asking for help does not make you any less of a mother. You can do this.

Something you are looking forward to: As cliche as this sounds, I am really looking forward to watching my son grow.  I’m looking forward to setting down our roots. Seems like we’ve moved around quite a bit and i’m more than ready to have a permanent home base.

Favorite thing to do in Flagstaff with/without kids: My son and I like going to the Museum of Northern Arizona! They have fun activities/events and a fun kids room. During the summer, we take mom/son dates to the farmer’s market.
Without kids… definitely going to a dive bar for a cold drink and some live music to dance to. I also like checking out different coffee shops and just sitting there in silence, enjoying a cup of coffee that hasn’t been reheated like 3 times in the microwave.

Best mom hack: Taking pictures of toys they want and telling them you’re sending it to Santa for a visual wish list. This way, there’s no tantrum, and you get a legit head start on their Christmas wish list.

Greatest challenge you’ve faced: So far, it’s been starting over in a new town and trying to meet new people.

Something you like about yourself: I’m not entirely sure, to be honest. There’s quite a few things I like and it’s taken me awhile to be OK with who I am. So maybe I like the fact that I’ve come to accept myself for being myself? 

Favorite thing about being a mom:
I get to share my imagination with a tiny little human, and together we can go on wild adventures or create new things.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here